We’re All Going Out To Eat

Those are words I love to hear. But growing up, going out to eat was reserved for special occasions, travel, and Sunday brunch, so we did not hear those words that often. So when I was back home on Saturday, I suggested going out to eat, my family all jumped on the idea. There was also no question as to where we would go. One of our favorite places Carls. Otherwise known as Carls Corner in Essig, MN. Just a few miles outside of New Ulm, Carls Corner is a mainstay for locals.

This is not a fancy, expensive restaurant, although it is good to make reservations. In all the years we have been going to Carls, I don’t think it has changed once, the decor is the same and the menu is memorized by my family. No need to even look at it. You go to Carls to eat real food and have real drinks. Known for their pizza and chicken dinners, you won’t find reviews online, but through word of mouth.

After making the short drive, we arrived at Carls, to “hellos” to my parents and sister (who I guess eat at Carls frequently), settling on we order our meals. My parents order their normal, chicken dinners, my dad’s potato choice being hash browns with fried onions. My sister chose her normal burger with onion rings and I opted to try their fish dinner (and being my father’s daughter, I also ordered hash browns). After a short wait, our delicious food arrived, it was hard to wait the few minutes for me to snap a few pictures for this blog.  My dad had his fork set and ready to dig in, when I asked if he wanted his picture taken (his food, of course).

It was a great evening with my family and was capped off with a card game with my husband’s brother and friends.  A great Saturday!

 SchneiderDadEmilyMarja

Leave a Reply

