Fall Quinoa

Well, it is that time of year. In Minnesota the leaves are changing color and the temperatures are dropping fast. And I get the craving for warm, comfort foods. It is amazing how in the summer, all I crave is watermelon and anything cold and a few short months later, all I want is to warm up my house. Either by baking or warming my stomach with delicious fall dishes. I gathered what I had in my pantry and refrigerator and set to work for a warm fall supper. Don’t be afraid to try quinoa, it is fast and versatile as long as you season it. Think of it as a protein packed rice.

Here is the recipe for my Fall Quinoa:

1 cup Quinoa

2 cups water

Handful of fresh cranberries

2 handfuls of fresh spinach

About 1 cup frozen broccoli

Handful of black olives, quartered

Black pepper, sea salt, and grated parmesan cheese (to taste)

Prep quinoa according to package, when water comes to a boil, add the cranberries. Lower heat and add spinach, and continue to cook. Last 5 minutes add broccoli and olives.  Once water is absorbed and quinoa is fully cooked, to taste add the black pepper, sea salt, and parm.  Stir and enjoy.

You will notice, much of my cooking if a handful or to taste.  With recipes like this, you can add as much broccoli or parmesan as you want. Or change it up the veggies or parm to something that better fits your taste.

Again, enjoy!

 Quinoa

Leave a Reply

